Senate Secretariat issues notification on appointment of Yousuf Raza Gilani Leader of Opposition

Earlier, PPP Senator Yousuf Raza Gilani has submitted the papers for the Leader of the Opposition with the signatures of 30 members in the Senate.

Sherry Rehman said that the application had been filed with signatures from a total of 30 senators – 21 from the PPP, two from the Awami National Party, one from the Jamaat-i-Islami, two from members belonging to Fata and four from the independent group of Dilawar Khan.

Gilani reached the office of Chairman Senate with PPP Senator Sherry Rehman and met Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, to whom the nomination papers were submitted.

However, PPP sources identified Senators Hidayatullah Khan, Hilal-ur-Rehman, Mushtaq Ahmed and Nawabzada Arbab Umar Farooq as some of the names who had signed the agreement.

At another hand sources said that, the PML-N has already submitted an application to the Senate Secretariat, nominating Senator Azam Nazeer Tarar as the opposition leader.

The nomination of Tarar carries signatures of 17 PML-N members whereas the five senators of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F) and two members each of the National Party (NP) and the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) had also assured their support in line with the decision taken by the PDM.

Independent Senator Hidayatullah and Senator Hilal-ur-Rehman have also signed in support of Yousuf Raza Gilani for Leader of the Opposition in the Senate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here