The election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Senate is underway by secret ballot.

The opposition has 51 out of 99 members in the Senate and the government has 47 members.

One vote from Jamaat-e-Islami and possibly one each from BNP and ANP will play a key role in the election.

Opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has nominated Yousuf Raza Gilani as chairman Senate and Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) as deputy chairman Senate.

PML-N has decided to vote for Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) candidates in the election of Chairman Senate and Deputy Chairman Senate.

On the other hand, Federal Minister for Information Senator Shibli Faraz has claimed that Sadiq Sanjarani will win the election of Chairman Senate and will definitely win.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here