Opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement candidate Yousuf Raza Gilani has been defeated and Sadiq Sanjarani has been elected as Chairman Senate.

For the election of Chairman Senate, 98 votes have been cast so far.

Seven voters stamped the name of Yousuf Raza Gilani which resulted in rejection of these votes.

Presiding Officer Senator Muzaffar Hussain Shah cast the last vote.

Senator Mushtaq Ahmed of Jamaat-e-Islami did not come in the House.

Senator Mushtaq Ahmed will be waited till 5 o’clock to cast his vote

Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of JUI-F cast his first vote. Senators are being called to cast their votes in alphabetical order.

The Senate session began under the chairmanship of Presiding Officer Muzaffar Hussain Shah.

Yousuf Raza Gilani is the candidate from the anti-government Ittehad Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) for the chairmanship of the Senate while Sadiq Sanjarani is the government candidate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here