Polling on thirty-seven vacant seats of the Senate ended at the parliament house and three provincial Assemblies including Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan.

The polling which started at nine am and ended at five pm.

In the federal capital where the National Assembly hall has been declared the polling station, Shafiq Arain was the first one to cast the vote followed by Faisal Vawda.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has also cast his vote who during his visit to the Assembly hall also interacted with the MNAs of PTI and allied parties.

Other prominent figures who have cast their vote include Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Minister for Planning Asad Umar, Deputy Speaker National Assembly Qasim Khan Suri, Interior Minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad, Minister for Communications Murad Saeed, and Minister for Science Fawad Chaudhary.

In the federal capital, Abdul Hafeez Sheikh of PTI and Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani of PPP are vying for the general seat whilst for the women seat, Fauzia Arshad of PTI and Farzana Kausar of PML (N) are in the field.

Eleven senators will be elected from Sindh and twelve each from Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Opposition leader in the National Assembly Shahbaz Sharif, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and PPP Co Chairman Asif Ali Zardari have also cast their votes for the Senate election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here