Today is the last day for submission of nomination papers for the Senate elections 2021.

According to the details, the Senate Elections 2021 is scheduled to be held on March 3. The candidates can submit their nomination papers with the relevant returning officers. the scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Monday and Tuesday next.

The candidates can file appeals against acceptance or rejection of nomination papers on the 17th and 18th of this month. These appeals will be disposed on the 19th and 20th of this month.

The revised list of candidates will be published on 21st of this month.

The candidates can withdraw their nomination papers on 22nd of this month.

A total of forty eight senators will be elected this time including twelve each from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, eleven each from Punjab and Sindh and two from Islamabad.

Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI), Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), the previous day announced the names of their candidates.


According to Federal Science Minister Fawad Chaudhry, the party has decided to give senate tickets to Hafeez Sheikh and Fauzia Arshad from Islamabad.

From Sindh, the PTI has decided to give sitting MNA and minister Faisal Vawda the ticket for a general seat, while Saifullah Abro has been nominated for the technocrat seat.

From Punjab, Saifullah Niazi, Dr Zarqa and Barrister Ali Zafar have been nominated for general seats. Information Minister Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Dost Mohammad and Sania Nishtar have been nominated from KP.

From Balochistan, Abdul Qadir will be given the ticket for a general seat.


The parliamentary board of PPP decided to award tickets for general seats to Jam Mehtab Dahar, Taj Haider, Saleem Mandviwalla, Sherry Rehman and Shahadat Awan.

On technocrat seats, the party has nominated Farooq H. Naek and Dr Karim Khawaja. Palwasha Khan, Khairun Nisa and Rukhsana Shah have been finalised for women seats.

From Punjab, the PPP has nominated Azeemul Haq Minhas on a general seat. From KP, the party has decided to field Farhatullah Babar as the PDM’s candidate while former PM Yousuf Raza Gillani will contest the election from Islamabad.


Meanwhile, the PML-N has decided to give tickets for general seats to Pervaiz Rashid, Mushahidullah Khan and Sajid Mir. For a technocrat seat, the party has nominated Azam Tarar.

Barrister Sadia Abbasi will be the PML-N candidate on a woman’s seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here